Churchwardens & Parochial Church Council


St Mark’s has two Churchwardens who are elected to represent the lay members and work closely with the vicar. The Churchwardens are legally responsible for the church buildings and possessions.  At St Mark’s, Churchwardens generally stay in post for 3 years and are elected by those on the church electoral roll, at the Annual Parochial Committee Meeting, held in April every year. 

In order to spread the Churchwardens' workload, St Mark’s has up to 4 Deputy Wardens, who are also elected by the church members. 

Our Churchwardens are:

Ken Packer

Paul Selvadurai

Our deputy wardens are:

Trevor Ford

Christine Ingram

Louise Wallis







The Parochial Church Council 

The Parochial Church Council , or PCC , consists of the church’s ministry team, the Churchwardens and their deputies, those church members who are elected to attend the Deanery Synod, and a number of elected lay members.  The PCC’s role is to work with the vicar in promoting all aspects of the church’s mission in the parish.  It meets approximately six times a year to monitor and discuss matters concerning the church and to take decisions where appropriate.

Our PCC members are:

The Vicar, Revd Martin Colton (PCC Chairman)

Ian Archer (Reader)

Sarah Cousins (Reader and Deanery Synod Representative)

Susannah Dyde (Reader)

Ken Packer (Churchwarden)

Paul Selvadurai (Churchwarden)

Trevor Ford (Deputy Warden)

Christine Ingram (Deputy Warden)

Louise Wallis (Deputy Warden

Terrence Hancock (PCC Secretary)

Brian Rowbotham (Treasurer)

Patricia Bird (Deanery Synod Representative)

Nicola Lloyd ( Deanery Synod Representative)

David Simmons (Deanery Synod Representative)

Anne Cotterell

Jane-Ann Paul

Jenny Toye

Jane Artis acts as PCC Minute Secretary.   Minutes are available in draft form at the back of church as soon as possible after each PCC meeting. Please see our calendar for dates of PCC meetings throughout the year.